Despite the scoreline, Huntly’s youth development side put in an impressive performance away to Elgin City’s under 18s on Sunday afternoon.


Iain Ralston's side were without midfielder Luca Michie and forward Zander Zvegintzov and fielded a number of trialists as Captain Dillon Farquhar was again deployed in a midfield role with Owen Campbell slotting in at full back.

Huntly started well and a good move down the left flank after four minutes saw Dylan McFadyen hold the ball up for Connor Stuart (left) and he drilled in a dangerous looking cross which gathered pace on it and did enough to beat goalkeeper Correy Crawford at the near post.

The deficit was doubled six minutes later. Ewan Skinner (right) made a run into the box only to be taken down by Jamie Souter. Skinner drilled low from the spot kick and his effort managed to creep in despite the best efforts of goalkeeper Crawford.

The visiting defence were very difficult to break down in the first half with Ethan Walker leading the line well as he and defensive partner Ross Craig cancelled out Elgin’s attacking players.

Half-Time: Elgin City 0 Huntly 2

There was an injury scare for Huntly just minutes into the second half. Max Cheung had only been on for a matter of minutes before he had a collision with a set of portable goals to the side of the pitch. Cheung would be unable to continue as Connor Stuart returned to play.

Further injury knocks would disrupt Huntly’s momentum in the second half with the impressive pairing of Craig and Walker both having to come off in the second half.

Elgin pulled one back on the hour mark through Aidan Cruickshank before substitute Alek Matczak levelled things from a penalty ten minutes later after Owen Morris was deemed to have fouled the Elgin player by Referee Will Adam.

Elgin’s comeback was complete with eight minutes remaining when Morgan Smith got in behind the opposing backline to fire in low off the post.

Elgin City
  1. Corey Crawford
  2. Callum Cruickshank
  3. Morgan Smith
  4. Ben Cormack
  5. Jack Royan
  6. Thomas Bremner
  7. Logan Grant
  8. Jamie Souter
  9. Dylan McPherson
  10. Aidan Cruickshank
  11. Ross Porter
13 Trialist
2 Dillon Farquhar
3 Connor Stuart (Cheung H-T)
5 Ross Craig (Trialist 52:29)
7 Alex Davidson (Trialist 54:09)
10 Owen Morris
12 Ewan Skinner
11 Dylan McFadyen (Trialist 61:22)
14 Trialist (Trialist 21:26)
16 Owen Campbell
22 Ethan Walker (Davidson 69:36)

Substitutes (all used)

12 Etahn Blanchard
13 David Anderson
14 Kasper Kwolik
15 Jacob Imlach
16 Keane Matheson
17 Aaron Cruickshank
18 Alek Matczak


9 Trialist (Trialist 21:26) (Trialist 61:26)
17 Max Cheung (Stuart H-T) (Stuart 48:12)
3 Connor Stuart (Cheung 48:12)
20 Trialist (Craig 52:29)
14 Trialist
(Davidson 54:09)
18 Trialist (McFadyen 61:22)
8 Trialist (Trialist 61:26)
7 Alex Davidson (Walker 69:36)

Management Team

  1. Robbie Hope (Head Coach)
  2. Dan Rudland (Coach)
  3. Richard Collie (Goalkeeper Coach)


Management Team

  1. Iain Ralston (Manager)
  2. Sammy McFadyen (Assistant Manager)
  3. Grant Turner (Coach)
Referee: Will Adam
  1. Aidan Cruickshank (60:05) 1-2
  2. Alek Matczak (70:42 penalty) 2-2
  3. Morgan Smith (82:07) 3-2
  1. Connor Stuart (4:50) 0-1
  2. Ewan Skinner (10:36 penalty) 0-2
  1. Jamie Souter (10:05)
Sendings off